acquire your style – how to choose a rug

Style can sometimes seem like a very elusive aspect of creating a beautiful interior. Even for me, I at times have trouble pinning down exactly what my style is in a way that I can verbalize it clearly. Its something I am working on and hopefully something I will have greater insight to over the next few months.

Today I wanted to do a little exercise with you in how to acquire your style by focusing on the one single accessory that can at times create the style foundation for all other accessories in any given space – the area rug. Aside from the furniture, accessories like curtains, pillows, and rugs are the objects which bring in the most bang for your buck and usually have patterns that can set the tone for the rest of the room.

I’ve come up with three basic style profiles that are very common in today’s decor world.

The first, I’ve called ‘Elegant & Glamorous’. This one is for all of the ladies who like that classic look with chic sophistication. Patterns in this style can be made up of square like shapes and curvy lines, or they may even be animal print. Greys, blues, and black bring on that more formal look while pastels, like pink, make it a bit more girlie! Check out a few of my picks here:

Elegant and Glamorous

For those of us who like to live a bit more on the edge and enjoy a more worldly feel in their home the ‘Eclectic & Free’ style would jive with your vibe. Ikat, an overdyed tranditional pattern, or something soft and fur-like might be just the right fit! See what I mean:

Eclectic  Free

Finally, if your someone who likes clean, angular lines, or circles even, and bright colors or, on the contrast, the black and white look  or muted colors I would call your style ‘Cool & Contemporary’ (and I don’t mean cool as in color tone but more as in the temperament). Hexagons, triangles, circular geometric shapes or, on the other end of the spectrum, something more abstract would do you good.

Cool  Contemporary

Of course this is just a look at some basic styles, there’s a whole world more to it than that, but I thought this would be a good jumping off point.

To get your hands on one of these rugs just click the appropriate link below for their source.

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 56| 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

*Speaking of style, I wanted to inform all of you of a special *FREE* G+ Chat put on by Creative Live Presents that’s all about finding out what your design personality is with Interior Designer Tobi Fairley and House Beautiful Editor-In-Cheif Newell Turner that’s going on TODAY (Jan 16, 2014) at 4pm EST. I will be there if you care to join me!*

Now for your take – of the styles shown above which one would you categorize yourself in? Any of those rugs that you like in particular? Or do you go for a completely different look?

When it comes down to it choosing the right rug comes by knowing your style overall, then coordinating that with the rest of the items in the space.

I’d love to hear what insights you come up with as style is something that should be looked at from within and from the outside world. Like a compass we find where our unique perspective meets with what’s available in the market. Let’s start finding our way!

2 thoughts on “acquire your style – how to choose a rug

    • Thank you Doris – glad you stopped by! I’m with you on the eclectic side but contemporary is just not my vibe. Its fun to see what everyone’s perspective is 🙂

Leave a Reply

